About the authors:



The Munster Literature Centre



Neil Astley


Neil Astley at the Cork Spring  Poetry Festival

Photo © Pamela Robertson-Pearce


Reading Saturday, 18 February @ 2.30pm with contributors from Bloodaxe's Being Human anthology.
Metropole Hotel, Cork. Tickets €6 (€5 concs.)


Neil Astley is editor of Bloodaxe Books, which he founded in 1978. His books include novels, poetry collections and anthologies, most notably the Bloodaxe Staying Alive trilogy: Staying Alive (2002), Being Alive (2004) and Being Human (2011). His other anthologies include the DVD-book In Person: 30 Poets. He has published two novels, The End of My Tether, which was shortlisted for the Whitbread First Novel Award, and The Sheep Who Changed the World. He received an Eric Gregory Award for his poetry and was given a D.Litt from Newcastle University for his work with Bloodaxe Books. He lives in Northumberland.

Author Links


Neil Astley on poetry's impact in the world (Guardian)

Author page at Bloodaxe Books

Publications by Astley at Amazon.co.uk



Previous author * Next author