Bloodaxe Books

Wednesday 14 February @ 7pm. Cork Arts Theatre.

nPamela Robertson-Pearce is an artist, filmmaker and translator. Her films include IMAGO Meret Oppenheim (1988/1996), on the artist who made the fur-lined teacup, and Gifted Beauty (2000), about Surrealist women artists including Leonora Carrington and Remedios Varo. IMAGO Meret Oppenheim won the Swiss Film Board's Prize for Outstanding Quality and the Gold Apple Award at the National Educational Film and Video Festival in America. She has shown her work in solo exhibitions in New York and Provincetown, and in various group shows in the US and Europe.

Born in Stockholm, she grew up in Sweden, Spain and England, then lived mostly in America - also working in Switzerland and Norway - before moving to Northumberland. She studied film and video at St Martin's School of Art in London with Malcolm Le Griceat. She later studied with teachers such as Kristin Linklater at Emerson College, Boston, USA, where she completed a Master of Theatre Arts specializing in playrighting and directing.

She co-edited the anthology Soul Food: nourishing poems for starved minds (Bloodaxe Books, 2007) with Neil Astley, and worked with him on the DVD-book In Person: 30 Poets (Bloodaxe Books, 2008), filming all the poets whose work is included in the anthology. Bloodaxe issued two more of her poetry films on DVDs with books in 2009, John Agard Live! with John Agard's Alternative Anthem: Selected Poems and Life is IMMENSE: visiting Samuel Menashe with Samuel Menashe's New & Selected Poems, followed by Jean 'Binta' Breeze's Third World Girl: Selected Poems with a live performances and interview DVD in 2011. Her full-length feature film Benjamin Zephaniah: To Do Wid Me was released on DVD by Bloodaxe in 2013 in Benjamin Zephaniah's DVD-book To Do Wid Me.

She devised the creative course Sky in the Eye ('Developing Creativity Using Women Surrealists' Art as a Palette') with poet Pascale Petit, run for the Ty Newydd Writers' Centre, Wales.

Pamela Robertson-Pearse's website

In Person: 30 Poets - a taster

Watch IMAGO Meret Oppenheim


Neil Astley is editor of Bloodaxe Books, which he founded in 1978. His books include novels, poetry collections and anthologies, most notably the Bloodaxe Staying Alive trilogy: Staying Alive (2002), Being Alive (2004) and Being Human (2011), which were followed by Essential Poems from the Staying Alive Trilogy (2012).

He has published two novels, The End of My Tether (Flambard, 2002; Scribner, 2003), which was shortlisted for the Whitbread First Novel Award, and The Sheep Who Changed the World (Flambard, 2005). In 2012 Candlestick Press published his selection of Ten Poems About Sheep in its renowned pamphlet series.

He received an Eric Gregory Award for his poetry and was given a D.Litt from Newcastle University for his work with Bloodaxe Books.

Astley's other roles include a board position with Ledbury Poetry Festival as a trustee and a three year directorship of the Poetry Book Society - he was responsible for the addition of poetry in translation to the book club's remit. At StAnza, Scotland's poetry festival, he gave a controversial lecture on the state of British poetry in March 2005. He was formerly an organiser of Newcastle Literary Festival, and has sat on the development committee of Cúirt International Literature Festival in Galway. Most recently, he guest-edited the Spring 2015 issue of the American literary journal Ploughshares, the first all-poetry issue in its 44-year history.

He lives in Northumberland.

Neil Astley on Bloodaxe

An Oxford Poetry interview with Astley

Neil Astley's lecture on the state of Brittish Poetry, 2005




Return to programme.


Cork International Poetry Festival

13 - 17 February 2018

Cork International Poetry Festival



Discover more about guests & publications: